#TagTuesday – New Blogger Tag

69e8e-bellebooksTechnically I am not new to blogging. I started up in March I believe, so it has been about five months now. However, I’d still like to put down a little bit about my bookish background and invite any new or new-ish bloggers who stumble across my blog to do the same for themselves! Consider yourselves officially TAGGED!

  1. Why did you start this blog? I started this blog because I was joining Netgalley to review Advanced Reader Copies of books and they recommended having a blog. Blogging was something I had been wanting to do for a long time anyway since I had been actively writing reviews on Goodreads, so starting an official blog was an easy next step.
  2. What are some fun and unique things you bring to book blogging? I knew when I started my blog that I needed to do something unique that would set me apart from all the other millions of blogs out there, especially in the YA world. So what I do that is different from the other blogs out there, is try to put a ‘soundtrack’ with every book that I review. I am a musician, so at the end of each review I write, I put a “listening to” selection. Every one of these I am literally listening to, yes, but I chose to listen to it specifically because I believe that it relates to the book whether because of the vibe, the beat, because it was mentioned in the book, the lyrics were mentioned, or something like that.
  3. What are you most excited about with this new blog? Like I just described in my last answer, I am doing something a little different with my blog and I am really excited about it. I am also running a “Bookstagram,” a Twitter, and my account on Goodreads, so I am also really looking forward to being active in the bookish community and meeting new people who are passionate about reading.
  4. Why do you love reading? I love reading because of the power of words. I believe that we need to learn from what we read and use that to be present in the world that we live in now. We cannot sit idly by and be controlled by those who would take advantage of us.
  5. What book or series got you into reading? I remember reading and being read to a lot as a kid. My grandmother ran a small book business out of her home part-time, and my mom also read to me a lot. I remember reading the Babysitters Club and Sweet Valley Junior High a lot when I was pretty young, but I was still a pretty casual reader. The first book that I know I waited in line for and pre-ordered was, of course, Harry Potter. I stayed up all night and read it with my friends while we all worked at summer camp together. It was so fun.
  6. What questions would you ask your favorite authors? I am always so curious how people (whether it be authors or musicians or artists) develop such elaborate things in their minds. Its just so amazing to me. As a musician, I can interpret music all day long, but I CAN NOT write it. I have no sense of creativity for making it up and just pulling it out of nowhere so I just have so much respect for people who do. So its the same thing for writers. We can read and read and read, or even blog our opinions all day long, but creative writing and story telling is way more difficult!
  7. What challenges do you think starting a blog will be the hardest to overcome? Starting a blog is difficult first of all in getting the look and the feel right. I know I still don’t have mine quite how I want it. Also, getting the follower count up. Its a process that just happens little by little.
  8. When did you start reading? I started reading when I was pretty little. I remember my grandma reading to me. She would fall asleep during a story and I would nudge her awake and tell her “I think you need some coffee!” And I was literally, what, 4 years old? I remember my mom wanting to read Misty of Chincogeague with me (I still don’t really remember reading it, but I remember the title!).
  9. Where do you read? Mostly I read either in my reading chair or in my bed. I also like reading outside (I have a nice reading blanket) or on our couch.
  10. What kind of books do you read? Books that sound interesting to me. I have a particular interest in YA books, especially in the contemporary, fantasy/sci-fi, or historical fiction settings. I also really like mystery/thrillers, literary fiction, urban fantasy, and some romance.

And there you have it folks! So as I said, if you are reading this and you have not completed this TBR tag, consider yourself TAGGED! Or just leave me a comment telling me something about yourself, or a link to your own post, so that I can learn about you, too. I’d love to meet you!

Listening to: “Strangers” by The Kinks

signature

3 thoughts on “#TagTuesday – New Blogger Tag”

  1. I envy the ability to put music with books! I get so into music I have trouble putting it in other contexts aside from “the characters listened to this song/musical”

    Like

    1. I really enjoy it! I’m not saying I could compost my own soundtrack like John Williams dreams up “Star Wars” or anything like that, but just like every book has a genre, every book does have its own musical feel, you know? At least to some extent! Every character has to be rock or pop or country or 50’s jive or whatever. Or just some soundtrack from something that I’m in the mood for that sort of matches. I really like it as an exercise and I hope that maybe some other readers out there could connect with that as well. =]

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

