“The Princess Diarist” by Carrie Fisher

33290316The Princess Diarist by Carrie Fisher was very much not what I was expecting. I was expecting a straightforward run through her journals from her movie days when she was filming the “Star Wars” movies. Apparently I don’t know Carrie very well. Well, I already knew that. I’m really not that big a Carrie fan, or Leia for that matter, but I am a “Star Wars” fan and since Ms. Fisher recently passed I figured I’d give the book a shot. The book was actually written very well, but the content was…just ok. Here’s why:
princess-leia-behind-the-scenes-starwars375-80% of the book is really about Carrison (Carrie + Harrison if you’re slow….their name for their affair, not mine). And not just “about” them…but its literally either recent Carrie talking about it, or teenage Carrie pining over it. Its quite beautiful and poetic for about 10-20 pages and then its just old. The beginning and ending biographical pieces about how she got casted and how she feels about her fans are funny and candid and that’s what I wanted. I wanted on-set memories as well and interactions with the cast and crew and the script. However….you can’t always get what you want.

At the end of the day, the book had its extremely well-written moments where I was so shocked I was ready to give it a 5 star rating because Ms. Fisher is so articulate and the book is quotable and memorable and funny. There are pictures in the actual book and the audiobook is read mostly by Carrie Fisher herself so its really great. Then we sometimes hit the doldrums of talking on and on as a teenage would-be poet about Harrison Ford for dozens of pages at a time…is it love or is it not? bla bla bla. Ugh.

Soundtrack: Return of the Jedi: “Luke & Leia Theme” by John Williams

Leave a Reply

